thetankatwaterheaterrescue.com Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
thetankatwaterheaterrescue.com > Forums > The Tank > eternal water heater --what do you think

Moderated by: Admin Page:    1  2  3  4  Next Page Last Page  
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
eternal water heater --what do you think  Rating:  Rating
AuthorPost
 Posted: Tue Oct 30th, 2007 09:19 pm
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
CONCEPTZ

Hey, guys I'm a newbie to this form but I have a question? I'm currently in the market for a new water heater and I came across the Grand Hall eternal water heater system. I not that familar with the company but the product looks pretty cool.

http://www.eternalwaterheater.com

tell me what you think

Thanks JC

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: Thu Nov 1st, 2007 01:46 am
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
eleent

Hello:  A warranty is only as good as the company.  Eternal is a nice name, but the company has not been around that long.  As with any other piece of equipment, I'd look at the "life cycle cost".  Add up the purchase and installation costs... add yearly maintenance costs... add fuel costs.  If you plan to live there ten years, make some educated guesses about fuel costs and equipment life.  Do the same for a conventional tank type heater and if you can spare some time, for a tankless unit.  Note that tank-type heaters lose very little efficiency with sediment build up.  Not so  with tankless, so they should have yearly service in hard water areas. 

In general, the more efficient and expensive a heater is, the more water you need to use to make it worthwhile.  For example, a really nifty super efficient heater will probably not be cost effective for a single person.  Water efficient fixtures and drain heat recovery  (GFX) are other ways to deal with the problem, by making it smaller ;)

Yours,  Larry

Posted: Fri Nov 2nd, 2007 01:38 pm
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
CONCEPTZ