Moderated by: Admin
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
The famous FVIR System  Rating:  Rating
AuthorPost
 Posted: Wed Jun 16th, 2010 07:19 pm
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
diogenes

Hi there, In recent years I have been experiencing 'early waterheater demise' due to the famous flammable vapor ignition retardation (FVIR)systems on the new gas waterheaters. There are problems with both with the custom sensor systems and the air flow control system (which restrict the flame and cause overheating in the  combustion chamber. Can you recommend the better waterheaters currently available to address these concerns and allow DIY folks keep their waterheaters?

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: Thu Jun 17th, 2010 06:45 am
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
undee70ss

Im no expert, but Bradford White water heaters have a push button reset for their FVIR.

Posted: Thu Jun 17th, 2010 04:17 pm
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
diogenes

Thanks for the observation, Unfortunately it's the other half of the problem that's the killer. The FVIR systems are designed to constrict air (and flame) flow to the burner. That way if the environment has flammable vapors, ignition will be limited to the combustion chamber. Unfortunately, these flow costrictors are: 1. easily plugged by dust and lint, 2. not designed to be cleaned. Once the constrictor is clogged, the flame tends to trip the shutoff device. So resetting it will only lead to tripping it shortly thereafter. Without being able to clean the constrictor, the life of the waterheater is very limited.

I wonder which company makes the largest constrictor and hence the longest life. As I understand it, tankless heaters are not blessed with this new safety feature (at the moment.)

Posted: Thu Jun 17th, 2010 10:37 pm
  PM Quote Reply
4th Post
elenano

I believe another advantage of the Bradford is that its intake screen is not on the very bottom of the heater like the whole Smith family's has been, so it doesn't clog as easily with dust.